Working – Day 1

Working with my father has its perks. A strict 9 to 5 schedule is not one of them.

My day started off early in the morning, far too early for my taste. I’ve gotten used to sleeping in I suppose, and waking up before noon was torturous, to say the least. But at any rate, I woke up at around 7:20 when my mom refused to stop shaking me until I got up (because the alarm set for 6:20 failed to dent my sound barrier), and was ready for work by 8:15 (ish), which is when my father had instructed I be ready by.

Lo and behold, he was late. We didn’t leave for work until 8:45 (ish).

But time schedules aside, working in a law firm is definitely cool. It’s not the first time I’ve been here of course, but the prestige of being the ‘boss’s daughter’ makes me smile everytime I come in. It’s especially fun when there’s a new staff member. At the risk of sounding snobby, the new secretary attempted to "teach me how the office works" by telling me to man the reception and get used to things, and I gave her this look and told her I was here to finish up my cases, not take care of the reception.

That’s right, finish up  my cases. I had a few pending ones from this summer, and my job at work isn’t that of a secretary’s assistant, but rather a lawyer’s assistant, so to speak. And since the lawyer is my dad, that essentially means he’s given me a few cases of my own, and I’m responsible for handling all the affidavits, statements, approvals, and appeals. With my dad overseeing me, of course, but still, it makes me feel quite accomplished.

Today, we undertake a fairly big project. What started off as clearing up some office filing space has turned into a massive rehaul of the filing and storage system. There are a few hundred files lying around in filing cabinets that are what they refer to as closed cases, and once a file is closed, it can be moved to storage to clear up space for new files. Simple enough, but dad wants a new labeling system for the files in storage so we can find them quickly if needed.

I’m in charge of handling that project. Go me!

So once I run the new system through the approvals I need, it’ll be something fun to do when I’m not working on affidavits and such for cases – another fun thing to do, but extremely tedious, dreary, and depressing if done for too long a stretch.

But back to the perks. I get paid a LOT more than my measly $8.50/hour work-study at college. Tons and tons more!

And with that ginormous amount I just paid in Spring tuition, fees, housing, and meal plans…..I need it. The money, that is.

On an off note….perks always reminds me of Galvin.

That, and pork-barrel spending.

Yum!

PS: Today, while waiting for my ride to pick me up, I had a conversation with the person next to me. I don’t know who he is, but we both enjoy frolicking through meadows. MLIA

That’s a funny MLIA. I wanted to savor it.

Leave a Reply

