Poetry Prompt – Structured Forms

 Hi! I have to write one of the following: Villanelle, Sestina, Pantoum
So, being the overachiever that I am, I’m going to (try) to write all three of them!

A. The Villanelle at a Glance
1. It is a poem of nineteen lines
2. It has five stanzas, each of three lines, with a final one of four lines
3. The first line of the first stanza is repeated as the last line of the second and fourth stanzas.
4. The third line of the first stanza is repeated as the last line of the third and fifth stanzas.
5. These two refrain lines follow each other to become the second-to-last and last lines of the poem.
6. The rhyme scheme is aba. The rhymes are repeated according to the refrains.

And The World Crumbles
A masked happiness approaches near
Walking upon shattered fragments of a tainted past
As the circular moon drips a single silvery tear

You’ve become rich now, I hear
Your footsteps are heavy with new fortunes amassed
A masked happiness approaches near

Your conscience is now black, but was once clear
Proving to me that many seasons have passed
As the circular moon drips a single silvery tear

Your ship must I now steer?
Must I be your hull, your keel, your mast?
A masked happiness approaches near

And I feel in my body a familiar fear
As my body is shocked rigid, and I am staring aghast
As the circular moon drips a single silvery tear

You have burst through my protective sphere
You have torn it apart with a single blast
And now a masked happiness approaches near
As the circular moon drips a single silvery tear

One thought on “Poetry Prompt – Structured Forms

Leave a Reply

