So You Want To Be a Wizard?

Has anybody else read the Young Wizards series? The first novel was published in 1982 but I remember finding a tattered copy of it in my cousin’s basement lost in the back of a dusty bookshelf (it was like…pushed into a corner with other shit piled on top). I loved the fact that I found it that way and was, of course, really excited to begin reading it. I must have read the first novel sometime in 1999 or something…I was still in elementary school and hadn’t moved to LI yet. It had to have been before 2001 because there were only 4 books in the series when I read it.

When I read it that first time, I thought it was a great read but I was pretty voracious – I read tons and tons of books and soon forgot about it in the plethora of other amazing novels I had read at the time. I also really really liked The Babysitter’s Club and the Nancy Drew series. And Are You Afraid of the Dark?

ANYWAY..a year or so later, i came across the sequel to the first Young Wizards book and it reminded me of how much I had loved reading the first book a while ago. I re-read the first book and then read through the second, third, and fourth books (again, before 2001) within a week. I was completely hooked but there were no more stores to read and then I moved on.

Sometime in middle or early high school, I saw a new book out in the series – happened across it in my school library one day – and read it. Again, I loved the series but didn’t know what else I could do with it. I wasn’t really into writing original fanfiction but if I was, Kit and Juanita were my favorites – I had practically grown up as they grew up after all. (Sort of similar to my Harry Potter story. I really really love sagas and epics and series that span across my life – you get so close to the character and relate to them on different issues as the two of you get older together)

Then I must say, high school and now college got the better of me – I haven’t read as much as I would like. But just now, as I was procrastinating studying for my Comparative Politics final, I came across a great listing of fantasy novels and series, many of which I have not yet read. As this is my favorite genre after all, I have decided that, in addition to creeping around on Google to find my syllabi early and begin reading coursework books, I am going to get through a couple more series.

The list included the first novel in the Young Wizards series, So you wanna be a wizard?. This brought back a wave of nostalgia and memories of younger and more carefree and less stressful days and now I feel all sad that I’m old ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Going back to the point however, I wikipedia’d the series and there are plenty of new novels to read – I actually cannot remember how far I got in the series and haven’t read any of the new books (aka the last 2 or 3, but I’m not certain) This means that over the summer, I hope to re-read the entire series. Wish me luck – the new project will be tagged under SMR2011 (Summer 2011) on the LiveJournal if you folk wish to keep track of my progress.

My original plan was to post book reviews as I got through the books but now I’m not so sure – that sounds a bit dry and boring. You can google enough reviews but at the same time, I want to do something to show how passionate I am for the series. Help me out! Tell me what you would like to see me do with this new project idea of mine. Its in the brainstorming process, help me make it real.

If you have any further suggestions for series I should read, please comment with them here! I’ll have plenty of time to read this summer as not much else is going on. 

3 thoughts on “So You Want To Be a Wizard?

  1. Re: Series Suggestion

    I love that you have Wizard’s Holiday as your avatar :O
    I’ve also…already read the Wicked Lovely series by Melissa Marr…pretty good read ๐Ÿ™‚ I love the world of fae SO much more than the Disney-fied fairies.

    More suggestions people?

  2. Re: Series Suggestion
    I love that you have Wizard’s Holiday as your avatar :O
    I’ve also…already read the Wicked Lovely series by Melissa Marr…pretty good read ๐Ÿ™‚ I love the world of fae SO much more than the Disney-fied fairies.
    More suggestions people?

  3. Yeah do book reviews! Or commentary or spoilers or something! I wouldn’t mind! I did that before too remember? ahaha I’d love book reviews because then I don’t have to read it myself ๐Ÿ˜€
    I remember So You Want to Be a Wizard!!! I used to skip everything and just read the Dorrine/Roshaun parts (I think that’s their names). I used to be way way into Kit/Nita in the beginning but as the series wore on I forgot about them and her sister’s romance was more the kind I liked to read..
    good luck! I have a similar resolution, I would to read a book by the end of Julyy

Leave a Reply

