AB Site Leader Retreat

Today, October 9, 2011 was an extremely crazy day! I’ll have to backtrack back to last night to tell the story properly though! This is a long weekend, we have no classes on Monday or Tuesday. Thus, this is the weekend Alternative Breaks picked to hold site leader training. We have all driven up to a YMCA upstate. Green Kill? Something like that, I think? We’re in the Catskills. Maybe? My geography of New York above and beyond New York City & Long Island is extremely limited. Extremely limited!!! I have absolutely no idea where we are, only that we’re farther North than NYC. We’re spending the time in these intense workshops though. No joke, it has been tiring. It is only 9:30 as I write this and I am already exhausted!

Last night, Christine hosted a party. I already knew a ton of people weren’t able to come, but I planned on staying in the city anyway because we left early in the morning (today) for the retreat. If I didn’t go to this party, I was going to crash with another friend also going on the retreat with me. But because I was in the city Saturday night and because Christine didn’t mind me crashing at her place, that is what I decided to do.

I was definitely up until like 5 in the morning. Meetup was at Kimmel by 8. I woke up at 7, got up, got ready, and was ready to head to Kimmel from her apartment by 7:30! Her place is hardly a 15 or 20 minute walk away so I’m well ahead of schedule. Right?

NOPE, WRONG. SO WRONG.

Christine is sleeping at her boyfriends’ place (Just a block down) and I stroll out the door with my purse, securely locking the door behind me. (You see where this is going?)

Then, about halfway down the stairs, almost outside the building, I realize I forgot something fairly crucial to my weekend retreat/training.

I forgot my suitcase in her apartment!

The door was locked, she was out, and I had a trapped suitcase. It was already 7:30, I was sure they had just gone to sleep (I mean I went to bed at 5, she probably went to sleep even later than that) and wouldn’t answer their phone. I called management, management says they basically can’t do anything, call a locksmith.

I don’t even have the bf’s number (Sad, I know). I know his building but I have NO clue what floor he lives on. I’m panicking, its already 7:45! I’m definitely going to be late and if I don’t get the suitcase, I basically can’t go to this retreat. Which would be tragic and super screw me over. Badly.

I mean you already know I’m at the retreat and tired, so obviously things worked out. I walked to Yindran’s apartment building, waited till somebody else was going in and stealthily entered the building. Took the elevator to what I hope was the right floor (I totally guessed…I’ve been there once, back in July) and ring the doorbell. Worst comes to worst I wake up some pissed and hungover guy at 8AM who I never se again? Best case scenario: I find Yindran, get his spare keys, walk back to and let myself back into Christine’s apartment, get my suitcase, take a cab to Kimmel, make it there on time and grab a quick breakfast before we board the bus we’re driving to the YMCA camp.

SO FOR ONCE, THINGS IN MY LIFE WORKED THEMSELVES OUT. Best case scenario is what happened. So I ended up spending $6 instead of $2.25 (subway was the original plan), but things worked out. It was pretty embarrassing though. Like really, how stupid L

We got here, played some generic icebreakers, then had lunch. After that, we have been in workshops essentially all day! We had 4 hours of workshop after lunch, then we had a break for dinner. Then another workshop, group reflections, and then we were released for the day at around 8:30PM. The rest of the night is ours to do as we wish! Tomorrow should be more fun, because in addition to the workshops, we also go canoeing during the day AND  have an awesome ginormous bonfire at night. 50 of us chilling by the fire, talking and roasting marshmallows and having an awesome time. I’m definitely looking forward to this!

However, it is now nearly 10PM and I need to finish a tangible portion of this American Literature assignment. If I don’t, I’ll have to do it tomorrow night when I’m even more tired, AND miss the bonfire to boot 😦 I’d rather stay up another hour or two tonight and get some work done. So that is what I shall do!

No internet right now, and barely any signal on my phone. This = why this journal is in a Word document for now. Will upload to WordPress the minute I have the ability to!

Edit: Relocated to the cafeteria. Found free coffee and more reliable internet. Posting this now!

PS NABILA I AM TAKING A TON OF PICTURES!

2 thoughts on “AB Site Leader Retreat

  1. LOL that kinda ditzy thing is what I do all the timee XD I’m so glad everything worked out! but OMG YOU’RE SO BRAVE. YOU’D JUST KNOCK ON SOMEONE’S DOOR AND HOPE?? I WOULD NEVER BE ABLE TO DO THAT AHAHAHAA WHAT IF IT WAS SOMEONE ELSEEE LOL THERE ARE SO MANY THINGS THAT COULD HAVE GONE WRONGGG. YOU ARE SOOO LUCKYY. SO.LUCKY.

    Catskills is by Albany somewhere ain’t it? ahaha. NY is pretty freaking big so I don’t blame you for not knowing it too well haha. I mean I’m worse, I was convinced Binghamton was 2 hours away from home and not 4. & the only other places I know is like.. Plattsburgh which is near VT & Buffalo which is mad north & west.

    Good luck with hw! Enjoy yourself more!! Don’t focus on hw too muchhh!

Leave a Reply

