Day 08: Breathtaking Paintings from the Past

Day 08 —If I could afford it, the piece of famous artwork you would find in my home is…

I will let the paintings speak for themselves. They are all beautiful, and though I could never hope to own all of them, I would be content with any one piece. These are all truly genius in my eyes. Many are related to literature…as an English major, these are the ones that have captured my heart. It murmers and trembles in excitement every time it sees. The aesthetic and analytical qualities are so superb that the paintings themselves are rendered ethereal.

First, there is Landscape with the Fall of Icarus, by Pieter Bruegel. My heart murmers.


The ever-beautiful Birth of Venus by Botticelli

  

There’s another that I look for, that alludes to the story of Aeneas’ Flight from Troy by Barocci Federico, but I can’t remember what it’s called. This one though, I have also come across during my various semesters of studying Virgil’s Aeneid, and it has become a favorite.

An amazing visualization of knowledge, this painting has always had a place in my heart. Scholars and academia galore. Can you spot them all? PARMENIDES (He started philosophy, basically. Seriously. Raving. So in love with this painting), Plato, Socrates, Aristotle, Euclid, Heraclitus, Pythagorus, a homage to Leonardo da Vinci, and the painter Rafael himself. This is, of course, The School of Athens (Referring to Plato’s school, with Plato and Aristotle center-stage) Can you tell that I love it? Please click on it to view it in full, it is breathtaking.

I’m (obviously) not as attracted to Modern Art. A trip to the MOMA leaves me disgusted, usually. There’s another painting I adore, but cannot remember the name of. It is one that alludes to Aeneas and Anchises and gives a nod to their story; Aeneas is seen in the left carrying Anchises on his back. You also see there, that he has his son’s hand in his. A most profound and meaningful trifecta of paternal figures – three generations of spectacular legacy. There is also, I believe, a Pope addressing the people, but the Pope is in the background. There’s a clustered group of individuals in the foreground, more prominent than the Pope, and I think there’s a fire that’s just been put out. I must go scour my course notes from 17th Century English Literature to find the name of the referenced painting. If any of you recognize it, please tell me the name!

These are some of my favorites. I enjoy them immensely.

xoxo,
Pryanka

List of rules and questions is here, if you want to participate. Sorry I haven’t commented on anything – been really busy the past two days!

Please take a moment to check out the other wonderful blogs participating in 30 days of Blogging Honesty with me!

6 thoughts on “Day 08: Breathtaking Paintings from the Past

    • I’m loving that you’re on wordpress again btw love. Also my blog was so empty before I started this challenge, so I’m glad you picked the right time to see it. Alphonse Mucha has AMAZING work! I’m sorry you didn’t get to see Slav Epic =/ Next time ❤ We'll all travel abroad some more..someday. I hope. xD

  1. I saw a nice, framed copy of Birth of Venus by Botticelli at a flea market. Picked it up and thought about buying it and walked out of the store without it. I wish I would have brought it!

    • Aw it all depends on the size and the price tag! It’s gorgeous, if you ever come across it again, don’t hesitate! I am going to have all of these hanging in my home someday. Maybe not the originals, I suppose I can let the museums keep them 😉

  2. SWEET lotsa Italian stuff 😀 Maybe you should check out more art from the Renaissance period 🙂 I wonder how much copies of these would go for haha.

Leave a Reply

