Day 17: Dust to Dust

Day 17 — There are many mysteries in the universe. If there was one truth I could learn, it would be…

Just one truth? That kills me, I want to know so much. I would have asked if there was intelligent life outside of our race and our planet, but I feel as though the answer to that has got to be a resounding yes. It’s just a matter of one day discovering one another in the future.

OH I KNOW (Thank you Misha, for the suggestion. It triggered me…I really have asked that question many times in the past)

I would like to know what happens after we die? Afterlife? Reincarnation? Heaven? Elysium? Purgatory? Nirvana?

I would really like to know about life after death. I want to know…will my soul live after my body is dust once more? Will I forget my past life? I would assume so, since I cannot say that I’ve had any premonitions of my past life. My parents used to tell me that a baby, in its first few months of life, is still able to relive the memories of its past life. They believe that the spirits of our elders reincarnate into the new generation, but I don’t know how much I believe that…then that would mean that there are no spirits, since we’d all be infused with the spirit of an older person. Sort of creepy.

In fact, my nephew was born just a few weeks after my grandma passed, and everybody’s convinced.

But for me, I want to know. It would shape how I live out my life. If nothing happens, we crumble, and our soul forgets this life and is put into another, then what does it matter to me how sinful I am? I wouldn’t become a thief, but I wouldn’t try to be a saint either. I wouldn’t feel guilty about not praying as much as I should, or sometimes eating meat on Tuesdays when I really shouldn’t.

Personally, my hunch is that our conscience ends with our death, but our soul is ‘recycled’ into something else…maybe a baby birthed in the same instant of our death? But that soul doesn’t remember its past conscience.

So right now, I’m more of a believer in the dust to dust motto.

Memento homo, quia pulvis es, et in pulverem reverteris.

 

xoxo,
Pryanka
– Remember, man, that you are dust and unto dust you shall return.

 

List of rules and questions is here

Please take a moment to check out the other wonderful blogs participating in 30 days of Blogging Honesty with me!

14 thoughts on “Day 17: Dust to Dust

  1. Interesting belief, but I’m unsure of one thing- so if someone has to die to breathe life into a newborn- does that mean that at any given time there are only a set amount of souls out there?

    • Yeah I don’t know….that’s the part that makes me disinclined to believe that theory. Going in that vein of logic, I would assume so. But more people die than are born, yes? Maybe there’s a backlog of empty souls for when there are more births than deaths xP

  2. Interesting thoughts onf life and death. I think I’d be afraid of the answer if I were to ask that. With all thats happened in my family recently I want to believe in more after death, but from my past, I’ve never really believed or disbelieved in anything. I guess I hate spoilers in everything, I’d rather everything be a bit of a surprise.

    • Oh my gosh, I can’t believe I missed the comment notifications for this post. How careless of me! I can understand where you’re coming from, believe me, but this is one fact I would need to know. Am I praying to no avail? Do we come back, do our souls remember….

      And even if the answer was that there was nothing, I would be at peace knowing. It is supposed to be the ultimate release after all.

  3. oh i did not think about that! that is one interesting thing to learn. i really have no clue what happens afterlife. nobody has ever returned to tell the tale right? hey, if you ever find out, buzz me right? 😀

  4. Good question! I was tormented by this in my highschool years! I actually borrowed from the local library anything I could find on the subject and my parents were kind enough to finance it when that was not enough.
    The opinions are shared but they do have one thing in common – each person has a soul and that soul is immortal. And yes, there are things beyond this world we do not understand. No, a dead soul cannot be reincarnated into an infant (the baby has the soul at the conception period and it’s impossible to throw the new soul out).
    Each soul has to go through a purging period (hence purgatory), where they get rid of the junk that usually sticks to us during a lifetime. When all memories and dust have been removed, he is free to join the living once more or oversee them from an enhanced state of consciousness.
    No, you can’t talk to the dead. All the people who claimed they did were proved to be frauds later on. You can dream with dead people but that is just this brain of ours recycling information and clearing up cupboards for new stuff.
    No, there are no ghosts. Earth Magnetism and self-delusions makes us think they are. 🙂

Leave a Reply

