Day 20: I’m a Survivor

Day 20 — I’m half naked, cold, tired, hungry, hurt, wet and just washed up on a deserted island. The first things I need to do to survive is…

Let me just start off by saying that WordPress is being VERY uncooperative tonight. It keeps crashing/timing out. Super laggy, super slow, and I’m having to go back and submit my comments multiple times before the page loads and accepts my comment. Otherwise it just loads to this annoying “NO DATA RECEIVED” bullshit. Argh. I’d love to go through everybody’s posts and comment, but this stupid website is frustrating me right now. So much frustration. Anyway, what’s the question? Ah right, I’m on a deserted island. Well no wonder I’m feeling so grouchy!

Well, how am I feeling right now though? I’m grouchy, cold, pretty naked, hungry, hurt, and wet. Alrighty then, let’s get down to business.

Half naked? Who cares, this is a deserted island! The first thing I’m going to address is that I’m hurt. I’m going to pluck off some leaves and try to brush the sand off my wounds and inspect myself. Besides being in pain, is there anything lacerated? Am I bleeding or just bruised? I’ll try to administer first aid, but more than likely I’ll just be able to take inventory of my wounds.

Provided I can walk, I’ll proceed away from the shoreline and toward a more dry area. I will take off my remaining clothes and hang them to dry or lay them on a rock that has sunlight hitting it. While that and my body are sunning/drying, I’ll try to see if there’s any way I can start up a fire. Greener wood if possible to smoke it up, and trymy best to start a fire. I don’t carry a lighter, but maybe I can use my cell phone to reflect the sunlight? Or does that only work in the movies?

But let’s assume I can start a fire. Check. Take inventory again.

I’m drying off, my clothes are drying off. Check.

I have a fire going. Check.

At that point, I would try to find food – edible fruits first because I don’t know if there would be grubs and other game I could bring myself to kill and eat. But even then, I think I would first go in search of fresh water, and food later. Camp out by the water and maybe I’d come across the game anyway.

In theory, I’d be a great survivor! I wouldn’t be stupid and run toward creepy noises either.

Oh and somewhere early in the scenario I’d write HELP ME I’M STRANDED HELP HELP HELP SOMEBODY HELP ME everywhere I could in the sand where it was visible from up high.

I think I’d like to play a Virtual Survivor game and see how I fare. It’d be interesting.

xoxo,
Pryanka

List of rules and questions is here

Please take a moment to check out the other wonderful blogs participating in 30 days of Blogging Honesty with me!

10 thoughts on “Day 20: I’m a Survivor

  1. I recently watched Castaway on the Moon (a Korean film, with English subtitles) and I *learned* how a *real* person that is not McGyver would survive in these situations. It was a fantasticly great movie, I recommend it highly. Bird poop for seeds! Genius!!

    • Just that one line, bird poop for seeds….I’m already interested. That’s really cool b/c seeds would be something that wouldn’t be digested I suppose. I’ll have to go check it out, thanks!

  2. Good information and well thought out planning. It seems like you might make it. I’m glad all my questions are already finished or I would be tempted to steal some ideas from the answers I’m reading today.

Leave a Reply

