Blog Everyday In May – Day 13 – A Public Apology

Day 13, Monday: Issue a public apology. This can be as funny or as serious or as creative as you want it to be.

Tell them I apologize, it happened over time, they know –

I heard once that they would rather hear about memories than enemies
Rather hear what was or will be than what is
Rather hear how you got it over how much it cost you
Rather hear about finding yourself and how you lost you
Rather you make this an open letter
About family and struggle and it taking forever
About hearts that you’ve broken and ties that you’ve severed
No doubt in my mind, that’ll make them feel better

– Drake, from the song “Headlines”

For some reason, the version with the spoken outro (Posted above) isn’t around as much….which is weird because I’ve always heard the version WITH the outro so I was really confused when I didn’t hear it in the Youtube and Soundcloud versions =/ I’m not sure what the deal is with that and why it was removed…because it’s like the BEST part of the song!

I want to apologize for the judgments I have made about people in the past. I want to apologize for ever making them feel like they had to present themselves in a certain way, or that I couldn’t accept their opinions. I have expected a lot from friends over the years, but I have noticed that when people in general are saying something I don’t agree with, I have tuned their reasoning out. I have seen the people who become successful and just scoffed at them, and assumed they have it easy rather than asking how much it cost them. I’m sorry for being the type of person Drake is describing, needing reassurance and wanting to feel better about myself by knowing that I’m not alone in my suffering or situation or whatever.

It’s very easy to judge. I want to apologize for not taking the time to understand all the time.

I will do better.

6 thoughts on “Blog Everyday In May – Day 13 – A Public Apology

  1. I feel like I’m half asleep now after my comment spam haha. But when I first read this I was like whoa this is good. Your honesty is great, but that is a very humbling reminder that there’s a line between judging people and being straight up with them. I’ll try to remember this also 🙂 but remember that sometimes there will be people & problems that you won’t understand no matter what and that’s pretty normal too.

    • Awww thank you so much! I feel much too flattered haha, but I did have the song playing while writing so I’m sure it was an unconscious influence over the writing.

Leave a Reply

